Skip to main content


About the Golden Anniversary Prize for Distinguished Clinical Investigation

In 1995, at the 50th year celebration of their graduation from medical school, the Class of 1945 established the Golden Anniversary Prize endowed fund to:

  • lend recognition and emphasize the importance of clinical observations and clinical investigation among the contributory sources of advancement in medical knowledge; and by application of the information in medical practice directly benefit patients; and
  • to encourage interest in clinical investigation and financial support for research by recognition of such achievement, especially of young physicians at conclusion of their years of postgraduate training or in the early years of career development.

Over time the endowment has grown from gifts of class members and a planned gift from class member Paul Southwick, MD. Currently, the $4,000 prize is awarded every other year at the School of Medicine Awards Banquet, with a new prize, the S. Paul Southwick Award for Clinical Excellence and Teaching in Internal Medicine to be awarded in opposite years.

Benjamin Brooke, MD

2016 Recipient

Benjamin Brooke, MD

Vascular Surgeon


Past Recipients

  • 2011 Srinivasan Beddhu, MD - "Obesity and Chronic Kidney Disease”
  • 2009 Kathryn J. Swoboda, MD - "Clinical and Genetic Studies in Spinal Muscular Atrophy"
  • 2006 Dr. Kevin M. Flanigan, MD - "Molecular and Clinical Characterization of Inherited Neuromuscular Diseases"
  • 2004 Carrie L. Byington, MD - "Characteristics of Viral and Bacterial Infections in Various Pediatric Populations"
  • 2001 Saundra S. Buys, MD - "Breast Cancer"
  • 1997 Robert E. Shaddy, MD - "Immunology, Physiology, Pathophysiology, and Outcome of Heart Surgery in Children"
  • 1996 Louis J. Ptacek, MD - Genetics and Physiology of Paroxysmal Disorders"
  • 1995 Kenneth Ward, MD - "Genetic Preeclampsia and Hypertension"

Matthew Rhondina, MD

2013 Recipient

Matthew Rhondina, MD

Internal Medicine, Genetics